No one escapes loss, it is a part of life.  And, no one experiences grief in the same way.  Why? Because it is unique to everyone and occurs in many ways –  the loss of a loved one, employment, possessions, divorce, relocation, identify, a dream etc.   Learning how to live through the grieving process is not easy, but it is possible.

Kobler-Ross’s model explains five cycles of grief as: 

  • Denial, disbelief, numbness
  • Bartering, question why over and over – if I could have, would have, should have, then, perhaps
  • Anger at self, another person, place or thing
  • Depression or sadness
  • Adjustment, acceptance

The cycles return often, at different times with various levels of intensity.   In the beginning, the experience feels like you are on a continuous emotional roller coaster ride – sometimes up, sometimes down, sometimes fast, sometimes slow – but take heart!    At some point this horrific ride called GRIEF will come to a turn of acceptance and you will adjust to a new sense of normal.

Bereavement management offers strategies, tools and support  to help you walk this painful journey.    It is not meant to replace professional counseling.  To schedule your 30 minute complimentary call, please contact or call 561 372-8434.   

My prayer is for you to find peace within your heart moment by moment.


Association for Death Education and Counseling